2017 Swedish Song Of The Year Grammy winner Michael Saxell is a singer-songwriter, composer, lyricist, multi-instrumentalist and producer. He was born in Helsingborg, Sweden and grew up in the southern Swedish city of Malmö, but has spent many years on the Canadian Westcoast.

More than 300 of his songs are recorded by other artists. He has earned 25 gold, 10 platinum and 8 multiplatinum Scandinavian records.

"If I Were Sorry" (by artist Frans) is a Frans Jeppsson Wall-Fredrik Andersson-Oscar Fogelström-Michael Saxell composition. Released on February 28th 2016. On leap day February 29th it enters the #1 position on Swedish Spotify Top 50.

The following day it is Number One on the Swedish iTunes Charts and receives more than half a million plays on Spotify in 24 hours. It subsequently goes on to break the Swedish record for most plays when it receives 679,917 plays in 24 hours.

On March 12th IIWS wins the Swedish National Television broadcast of the Melodifestivalen song contest and goes on to finish in fifth place at the Eurovision Song Contest in May of 2016.

It wins the Swedish Song Of The Year Grammy 2017 on Feb 28, 2017 and has received more than 71 million Spotify plays in March that year, at which time it has passed certified 5 x platinum status in Sweden, 2 x platinum in Poland and gold in Germany and Austria.

Michael is co-writer of the Swedish #1 hit song "Johnny G" (by artist Badpojken) with Fredrik Andersson and Ingvar Irhagen. The song, released mid July 2015, achieved Swedish triple-platinum status within 5 months of its release and has, as of January 2016, reached over 22 million plays on Spotify.

"Back Of A Map Of The Moon", a Craig Jacks and Michael Saxell composition, is included on

Terry Jacks Greatest Hits "...starfish on the beach - The Terry Jacks Collection" released in September 2015.

In May 2010 Saxell received the prestigious SKAP (Swedish Composers of Popular Music) Stipendium award, honoring the memory of the Swedish songwriter and composer Evert Taube, at an awards ceremony conducted at The Nordic Museum in Stockholm.

He composed the Lithuanian Grammy winning song of the year "Yra kaip yra" for the artist Mia in 2007 along with co-writers Christian Svensson and Sandra diAmante. The song was also the most played pop song on Lithuanian pop radio in 2007.

He has written words and music to Scanian classics "Om himlen och Österlen" and "När en flicka talar skånska" and composed music for the Colin Nutley movie "Änglagård - andra sommaren" and for the soundtrack of the movie "Blådårar".

Saxell performed on a tour of Estonia in May 2005 along with 2011 Nobel Prize in Literature winner Tomas Tranströmer, Jacques Werup, Eva Runefelt and others.

Michael is featured as lead singer and co-writer of two songs with Keith Reid on the 2008 international release of the Procol Harum lyricist's album The Keith Reid Project - The Common Thread along with John Waite, Chris Thompson, Southside Johnny, Steve Booker, Terry Reid, Chaz Jankel and Bernie Shanahan.

He is co-writer with Randy Bachman on the song Repo Man on Bachman & Turner (Album), formerly of Bachman–Turner Overdrive, September 2010 worldwide album release.

Saxell produced and wrote songs for Swedish singer Lill Lindfors' 2005 EMI album release "Här är den sköna sommar", which peaked at number 12 on the Swedish Best Selling album charts.

Michael Saxell performed as the warm-up act for British guitar legend Jeff Beck on his 1980 Canadian tour.

Saxell's co-writing partners include Randy Bachman, Fredrik Andersson, Eric Bazilian, Douglas Carr, Randy Goodrum,

Maurizio Fabrizio, Tim Krekel, Dickey Lee, Agi Lindroth, Christoffer Lundquist, Peter McCann, Cris Moore, Craig Northey,

Keith Reid, Steve Porcaro, Mikael Rickfors, Christian Svensson, Jacques Werup, and many others.